# Associate Deans Council February 22, 2023 Meeting Minutes

**Present:** Peter Ryan, Tracey Baham, Bimal Balakrishnan, Steve Bullard, John Dickerson, Jim Dunne, Anastasia Elder, Brent Fountain, Cameron Fox, Dana Franz, Robert Green, Kim Hall, Brien Henry, Melanie Loehwing, Lynda Moore, Tabor Mullen, David Nolen, Steve Parrott, Andy Perkins, Kevin Rogers, Susan Seal, Michael Seymour, Emily Shaw, Darrell Sparks, Lisa Stricklin, Lauren Wright, Tina Gilliland

Dr. Jim Dunne called the meeting to order at 1:30 PM

# 1. Consideration of the minutes

Upon a motion made by Dr. Robert Green and a second by Dr. Kevin Rogers, the minutes from February 8, 2023, were approved with a few typographical errors corrected.

# 2. Announcements

- The due date for Maymester, Summer and Fall Course Material Adoptions is March 31, 2023.
- The Spring Undergraduate Research Symposium is April 13-14, 2023. Submission deadline is March 22, 2023.

# 3. AOP's

➢ AOP 12.26: Non-Traditional Credit

An incorrect version of this AOP was originally sent out to council members, however the correct version was given to members during the meeting in a hard copy format.

Dr. Tracey Baham began the discussion by stating that she anticipates this policy being table at today's meeting due to the need for a sub-committee.

Previously this policy was for Credit by Examination however, it has been expanded to include other forms of credit for non-credit activities or prior learning assessment. The combination of all forms of non-credit activity needs to be less than 25%. Dr. Melanie Loehwing inquired as to why there is an increased limit in non-credit activity. Dr. Baham indicated that it opens access to more post-traditional students who have direct work experience. Academic programs may decide to accept less credit in this manner and may identify only a small proportion of coursework that would be eligible. Not all types of content can be demonstrated through an examination, or a justification of work experience and the program faculty would need to be the ones to determine what would be appropriate for non-traditional credit.

After a productive discussion, the following subcommittee was formed and will report back to the council later.

- o Ms. Lynda Moore
- o Dr. Susan Seal
- o Ms. Emily Shaw
- o Dr. Dana Franz
- o Dr. Kim Hall
- o Dr. Melanie Loehwing
- o Dr. Robert Green
- o Dr. Bimal Balakrishnan

Dr. Jim Dunne made the motion to table AOP 12.26 and a second was given by Dr. Bimal Balakrishnan.

AOP 12.26 is tabled.

## 4. New Business

- Dr. Tracey Baham announced that the National Survey of Student Engagement will begin March 1, 2023.
- Dr. Susan Seal stated that online teaching award nominations are due by March 8, 2023.
- Ms. Lisa Stricklin announced that advising award nominations are due by March 1, 2023.
- Ms. Emily Shaw stated that a new scheduling software program called CLSS is being secured with the anticipated Spring 2024 scheduling cycle. More information is forthcoming.
- Dr. Brent Fountain announced that "Taking Care of What Matters" will be held on April 11, 2023, from 10:00 11:00am in Bettersworth Auditorium in Lee Hall. More information is forthcoming.

Meeting adjourned 2:20 pm