• New Attendance Tracking System
    To: Faculty, Instructors of Record, and Departmental Users
    From: Dr. Jerome A Gilbert, Provost and Executive Vice President

    As has been communicated in the past, student attendance is a strong predictor of success in the classroom. In order to offer more options for faculty to report student attendance, Information Technology Services (ITS) has developed a new attendance tracking system that will become operational on August 11. The new system will provide features not available in the current absence reporting system including:
    . Tracks attendance for each class meeting date
    . Records attendance detail including present, unexcused absence, excused absence, or late
    . Available to instructors of record and departmental users
    . Works with or without attendance scanning hardware

    If you decide you prefer the current absence reporting system, you can still use it. At the beginning of a new term, you will need to designate for each of your course sections whether you will use the new attendance tracking system or the old absence reporting system.

    Overview sessions will be held to provide faculty and others general information on the upcoming changes to attendance tracking and absence reporting. Faculty are encouraged to attend an overview session to learn more about the features of the new system. If you decide to use the new attendance tracking system, then I also encourage you to attend one of the hands-on training sessions. These sessions will give more in-depth training and experience in using the system.

    ITS has scheduled several overview and hands-on sessions for you to attend at your convenience. A complete listing of these sessions is available at: Registration is not required to attend an overview session, although seating is limited and available on a first-come, first-served basis. You can register for the hands-on training sessions at:

    The new system will go live on August 11, thus we encourage you to attend one of the overview sessions and, ideally, a hands-on training session.
    We are excited about the new attendance tracking system and the opportunities the system will provide in tracking student attendance. If you have questions or concerns, please contact the ITS Help Desk at 662-325-0631, toll free at 888-398-6394, or by email to If you require special assistance relating to a disability to attend one of these events, please contact Steve Parrott at 325-7790.
  • Syllabus Template (new Title IX requirement)
    We have a new syllabus template for faculty to follow when creating a syllabus for future semesters. It can be found on the website of The Center for Teaching and Learning.

    Also attached is a copy of the document.

    New to this template is the requirement that we place a Title IX statement at the bottom. There is also a requirement that there be a reference to the Honor Code and Student Support Services. Please alert other faculty to the fact that a Title IX statement must appear on future syllabi.

    Thank you for your assistance with this matter.


    Jerry Gilbert
    Provost and Executive Vice President

    Attached file › Syllabus Template Final Draft REVJan 2015.docx